web analytics

lincoln

A Gentle Walk in Lincolnshire (and my new Buff)

Saturday was an absolutely stunning Spring day (for the most part), so I took myself off on a planned walk along the trails close to home.  I mentioned in my Goals and Challenges for 2015 post last week that I am going to attempt the Lyke Wake Walk later in the summer, and so this

Some Goals and Challenges for 2014 – An Update

Despite 2014 looking like an incredibly busy year, back in February I was inspired by a number of people to make a short list of goals and challenges I would like to achieve in 2014. As we are currently working our way through the very last day of the year, and because I just managed to make a

Snow Journey Home

We got home safely last night thanks to three very important things. LincsGeek’s calm and expert driving. Winter tyres on the car. Making the (eventual) decision to stick to minor roads. It was a snow journey. I’m sure you’ve heard lots about, or experienced, the snow storm that hit parts of the UK last night. Not

A Spires and Steeples Re-Match

On Sunday I asked a lot of my body. And it delivered. I started and finished the Spires and Steeples Challenge, walking the 26(.75 ish) miles from Lincoln to Sleaford. Finishing wasn’t a given. I abandoned the hike at the half way point last year, defeated by the terrible weather and difficult conditions. This year

“In Beauty May I Walk” Sculpture at Doddington Hall

If you’re local to Lincoln (or even if you’re not) then the sculpture exhibition at Doddington Hall and Gardens is well worth a visit. Called “In Beauty May I Walk”, it’s open until 7th September and there’s a fabulous cafe to get a slice of cake afterwards. (And if someone wants to buy me either the

Year in Photos – Weeks 30 & 31

Wednesday 30 July – It is finished! Thursday 31 July – How cute are these little baby booties? I made them! Thanks to Rock+Paper+Scissors for their baby accessories class this evening. Friday 1 August – Brayford Pool, Lincoln. Saturday 2 August – Flapjack for breakfast. The (almost) healthy option. Well it is home made! Sunday

Year in Photos – Week 29

Wednesday 23 July – Lincoln Cathedral from Brayford Pool. Thursday 24 July – Crisps in a cup. This stops me eating all the crisps a colleague brought in to share! Friday 25 July – A hike up Kinder Scout to remember how hiking always made me feel alive. Read the post here. Saturday 26 July – Rhino sculpture

Year in Photos – Week 28

Wednesday 16 July – Big skies over Lincoln’s Brayford Pool. Thursday 17 July – Been everywhere. Seen everything. No – me neither, but I’m working on it! Friday 18 July – Route planning for a walk up Kinder Scout next week. Saturday 19 July – Thorpe Lake, Whisby Nature Park (in-between the heavy rain). Sadly no bathing allowed. Sunday

Year in Photos – Week 27

Wednesday 9 July – Where have you been? Well actually I’ve been on a nice long holiday, thanks for asking! Thursday 10 July – An unedited sky over my garden. Friday 11 July – Sweet, sweet grapes. I’m at least trying to be good! Saturday 12 July – Nothing beats putting your feet up with a

On Failing to Break a World Record

One of those slightly more unusual things that has been sat on my bucket list for several years is to hold a Guiness World Record. I’ve never had any clue what record it might be, but in my head I have images of Roy Castle and a television studio and an audience cheering and this song… Sorry for

Race for Life and my new Brooks Trainers

On Sunday I joined with thousands of other women from the area to take part in the Lincoln Race for Life at the Showground. I’d signed up earlier in the year to take part in the 10km fundraising event to do my bit for Cancer Research UK and also to encourage myself to go out

Year in Photos – Week 22

Wednesday 4 June – Matching Shoes and Bag. Thursday 5 June – Love my new gadget protection. Friday 6 June – Sunny day in Lincoln. Saturday 7 June – Playing with my shiny new Brydge Keyboard, now my iPad is pretending to be a laptop! Sunday 8 June – On my second lap of Lincolnshire Showground for Lincoln Race